Happy Pride Month, New Jersey! Follow our #PridePosts on Instagram!

Vote for these LGBT-friendly candidates! Garden State Equality's 2017 Endorsements:

Each election year Garden State Equality’s Action Fund strives to identify candidates that will help to create a more equal New Jersey. There are many factors that go into our decision.  This process is never easy but we are confident that if elected these individuals for State Senate and Assembly will ensure that New Jersey will be on the right track for equality and our arc of justice will bend more quickly.

2017 Gubernatorial Race

Ambassador Phil Murphy (D) 

2017 NJ Senate General Candidates



3 Stephen Sweeney (D)
4 Fred Madden (D)
5 Nilsa Cruz-Perez (D)
6 James Beach (D)
7 Troy Singleton (D)
11 Vin Gopal (D)
13 Declan O'Scanlon (R)
14 Linda Greenstein (D)
15 Shirley Turner (D)
18 Patrick Diegnan, Jr. (D)
19 Joseph Vitale (D)
20 Joseph Cryan (D)
22 Nicholas Scutari (D)
27 Richard Codey (D)
29 Teresa Ruiz (D)
31 Sandra Cunningham (D)
32 Nicholas Sacco (D)
33 Brian Stack (D)
34 Nia Gill (D)
35 Nellie Pou (D)
36 Paul Sarlo (D)
37 Loretta Weinberg (D)
38 Robert Gordon (D)


2017 NJ General Assembly General Candidates



3 John Burzichelli (D)
3 Adam Taliaferro (D)
4 Paul Moriarty (D)
4 Gabriela Mosquera (D)
5 Patricia Egan Jones (D)
5 Arthur Barclay (D)
6 Louis Greenwald (D)
6 Pamela Lampitt (D)
7 Carol Murphy (D)
7 Herbert Conaway, Jr. (D)
11 Eric Houghtaling (D)
11 Joann Downey (D)
13 Serena Dimassi (R)
14 Wayne DeAngelo (D)
14 Daniel Benson (D)
15 Reed Gusciora (D)
15 Elizabeth Maher Muoio (D)
16 Andrew Zwicker (D)
18 Nancy Pinkin (D)
18 Robert Karabinchak (D)
19 Yvonne Lopez (D)
19 Craig Coughlin (D)
20 Annette Quijano (D)
20 Jamal Holley (D)
22 Gerald Green (D)
22 James J. Kennedy (D)
27 John Mckeon (D)
27 Mila Jasey (D)
28 Cleopatra Tucker (D)
28 Ralph Caputo (D)
29 Shanique Speight (D)
29 Eliana Pintor Marin (D)
31 Nicholas Chiaravalloti (D)
31 Angela McKnight (D)
32 Vincent Prieto (D)
32 Angelica Jimenez (D)
33 Raj Mukherji (D)
33 Anette Chaparro (D)
34 Thomas Giblin (D)
34 Sheila Oliver (D)
35 Shavonda Sumter (D)
35 Benjie Wimberly (D)
36 Marlene Caride (D)
36 Gary Schaer (D)
37 Gordon Johnson (D)
37 Valerie Vainieri (D)
38 Timothy Eustace (D)
38 Joseph Lagana (D)
39 Holly Schepisi (R)


Local Municipalities 



Jersey City Steven Fulop for Mayor (D)
Neptune City Pamela Renee for City Council (D)
South River Ruell Calvin Brown for City Council (D)
Atlantic City Don Guardian for Mayor (R)
Red Bank Ed Zipprich for City Council (D)


The Action Fund also believes that it has a responsibility to share with our members a list of LGBT self-disclosed candidates:


Positing Running For


Ruell Calvin Brown City Council South River
Michael DeFusco Mayor Hoboken
Mico Lucide General Assembly, Legislative District 2 NJ
Pamela Renee City Council Neptune City
Reed Gusciora General Assembly, Legislative District 15  
Tim Eustace General Assembly, Legislative District 38  
Marianna Pontoriero Council Brick
Vincent Solomeno Hazlet Township Committee Hazlet
Jake Hudnut Ward E Downtown Council Jersey City
Gina Genovese Governor NJ
Don Guardian Mayor of Atlantic City Atlantic City
Christopher Hillmann City Council Hasbrouck Heights
Ed zipprich Council Red bank
Dean dafis Council Maplewood
Dan ward Council Barnegat
Vincent Solomeno Council Hazlet
Beth Asaro Council Lambertville